Loading...
 

Film Scene in Atlanta


Article

Friday March 1, 2019 01:38 pm EST
Documentary traces the evolution of African-Americans in horror cinema, from ‘Blacula”’ to ‘Get Out’ | more...

Article

Thursday February 21, 2019 03:21 pm EST
The director, designer, and puppeteer reflects 15 years of filmmaking | more...

Article

Monday February 11, 2019 02:05 pm EST
Colorized documentary offers immersive experience of men at war | more...

Article

Friday January 11, 2019 10:14 am EST
Satiric humor spices up portrayal of institutional corruption | more...

Article

Wednesday January 9, 2019 11:51 am EST
'Longing For' filmmaker discusses her directorial debut | more...

Article

Monday December 10, 2018 01:11 pm EST
Netflix’s new classic, “Roma” | more...

Article

Thursday November 1, 2018 05:55 pm EDT
Joel Edgerton’s gay conversion drama captures Southern homophobia better than the horror remake evokes its haunting predecessor | more...

Article

Thursday October 4, 2018 05:46 pm EDT
Bradley Cooper’s remake of classic Hollywood romance gives Lady Gaga a de-glammed star turn | more...

Article

Sunday September 30, 2018 05:00 am EDT
New releases across genres share spotlight with other fall film events | more...

Article

Monday September 10, 2018 04:26 pm EDT
Director Jim Farmer reflects on Atlanta’s queer film festival | more...

Article

Thursday September 6, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Hip-hop’s conscious rhymes take root in Athens and Atlanta for community engagement | more...

Article

Friday August 24, 2018 05:00 am EDT
The cast of “Crazy Rich Asians” open up about what it means to take part in a film depicting Asian people and culture | more...

Article

Friday August 17, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Inspired by ‘Highlights’ magazine, this year’s festival theme looks beyond the flimflam of current politics | more...

Article

Friday August 17, 2018 05:00 am EDT
The comedy-drama’s well-written humor outshines its lackluster dramatics | more...

Article

Monday August 13, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Fact-based 1970s drama finds disturbing parallels with today’s politics | more...

Article

Thursday July 26, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Kick off ATL’s  9th annual Zombie Pub Crawl with a not-quite-50th-anniversary screening of “The Night of the Living Dead” | more...

Article

Tuesday July 24, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Local filmmakers unite to make big on the silver screen | more...

Article

Monday July 16, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Director and co-writer of indie film ‘Pageant Material’ draws inspiration from his childhood, Atlanta culture | more...

Article

Tuesday July 10, 2018 11:06 am EDT
Watch a classic film every Tuesday through Aug. 28 | more...

Article

Monday July 9, 2018 05:00 am EDT
One night only: Watch The Beatles save Pepperland in the 1968 animated film on July 9 | more...

Article

Friday July 6, 2018 03:27 pm EDT
PLUS: An 80’s dance party, comedy, Day-drinking, Art, and more | more...

Article

Thursday July 5, 2018 01:55 pm EDT
Enjoy a live performance from singer Angel White before a ‘screen on the green’ airing on July 11 | more...

Article

Sunday July 1, 2018 12:52 pm EDT

 The surreal Sorry to Bother You demonstrates that it’s better to be a movie with too many ideas than too few. Just some of the themes tackled by writer/director/rapper Boots Riley include income inequality, racial code-switching, political activism, viral fame, and other hot-button issues.

Atlanta co-star Lakeith Stanfield stars as Cassius, a.k.a. Cash, a broke young man who takes a lousy...

| more...

Article

Saturday June 30, 2018 05:00 am EDT
PLUS: Comedy, cosplay, cinema and more this weekend in the ATL, and more | more...

Article

Friday June 22, 2018 05:00 am EDT
AJFF celebrates the Jewish film community though multimedia art forms, local food, and innovative films on June 23. | more...