Loading...
 

business

 

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum

3cbf1 Urbex L5p Jimmycarterlibrary5
Call: (404) 865-7100 or visit www.jimmycarterlibrary.gov
Presidential Library system and museum with special exhibitions and a permanent collection that features photographs and historic memorabilia from the Carter administration.

Finding My Voice: Valerie Jarrett and Stacey Abrams

Tuesday April 23, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
Stacey Abrams, Georgia House Minority Leader and Valerie Jarrett, former senior adviser to President Barack Obama, gather in conversation at the beautiful Jimmy Carter Presidential Library. Sorry Movers and Shakers, but free registration for this event is AT CAPACITY. Why share? The continued suppor...
Cost: Free

James Campbell - Mississippi Witness

Wednesday April 24, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
Location: 

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307 A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome James Campbell, author of Mississippi Witness: The Photographs of Florence Mars.

About the Book

Mississippi Witness i...
Cost: Free

Sandro Galea I Well

Wednesday May 8, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
Location: 

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307 A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome Sandro Galea, author of "Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health." 

About the Book

"A deeply affec...
Cost: Free

Sandro Galea - Well

Wednesday May 8, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
Location: 

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome Sandro Galea, author of "Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health." 

About the Book

"A deeply af...
Cost: Free

George Packer - Our Man

Wednesday May 15, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
Location: 

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome National Book Award-winning author and staff writer for The Atlantic, George Packer, who will discuss and sign copies of his...
Cost: Free

Tony Horwitz - Spying on the South

Monday May 20, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome Tony Horwitz, author of "Spying on the South"

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcom...
Cost: Free

Writers at the Wrecking Bar Presents Jessica Handler | The Magnetic Girl

Tuesday April 9, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
A Cappella Books presents:

Location:  Wrecking Bar Brewpub 292 Moreland Ave, Atlanta, GA 30307

Writers at the Wrecking Bar celebrates the fiction debut of Atlanta author Jessica Handler. For fans of Emma Donoghue and Alexander Chee, "The Magnetic Girl" is set at a time when the emerging presence o...
Cost: Free

Kerri Kennedy | Indivisible

Tuesday April 2, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
A Cappella Books Presents:

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome Kerri Kennedy, Associate General Secretary for the American Friends Service Committee and an ed...
Cost: Free

U.S. Senator Doug Jones | Bending Toward Justice

Friday March 22, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
A Capella Books Presents  A Cappella Books and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum welcome U.S. Senator Doug Jones of Alabama. In his new book "Bending Toward Justice: The Birmingham Church Bombing that Changed the Course of Civil Rights," Jones details the story of the decades-long fig...
Cost: $30 + $5.66 Fee

Atlanta Science Festival Presents: Ed Yong | I Contain Multitudes

Wednesday March 20, 2019 06:30 pm EDT
Presented by A Cappella Books

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

The human microbome is a dynamic collection of bacteria, fungi, and viruses central to our survival, shaping every one of us from birth. Acclaimed writer Ed Yong wrote ...
Cost: Free

Mitchell Jackson | Survival Math

Monday March 11, 2019 07:00 pm EDT
Presented by A Cappella Books

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

In a thrillingly alive, candid new work, award-winning author Mitchell S. Jackson takes us inside the drug-ravaged neighborhood and struggling family of his youth, while ...
Cost: Free

Irshad Manji | Don't Label Me

Friday March 1, 2019 07:00 pm EST
Location: 

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 John Lewis Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

"Don't Label Me" is a unique conversation about diversity, bigotry, and our common humanity, by the NYT bestselling author, Oprah “Chutzpah” award-winner, and founder of the Moral Courage Project, Irsha...
Cost: Free

Irshad Manji | Don't Label Me

Friday March 1, 2019 07:00 pm EST
Partnered with A Capella Books

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 Freedom Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30307

"Don't Label Me" is a unique conversation about diversity, bigotry, and our common humanity, by the NYT bestselling author, Oprah “Chutzpah” award-winner, and founder of the Moral ...
Cost: Free

Chris Wilson and Bret Witter | The Master Plan: My Journey from Life in Prison to a Life of Purpose

Wednesday February 13, 2019 07:00 pm EST
Presented by A Capella Books

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 Freedom Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30307

Co-written with Decatur's Bret Witter, "The Master Plan: My Journey from Life in Prison to a Life of Purpose" is Chris Wilson's inspiring, instructive, and ultimately triumphant memoi...
Cost: Free

William Taubman | Gorbachev: His Life and Times

Tuesday February 5, 2019 07:00 pm EST
Partnered with A Capella Books

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 Freedom Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30307

Pulitzer Prize-winning author William Taubman discusses and signs copies of his book "Gorbachev: His Life and Times," the first comprehensive biography of Mikhail Gorbachev, the la...
Cost: Free

Bridgett M. Davis | The World According to Fannie Davis: My Mother's Life in the Detroit Numbers

Tuesday February 5, 2019 01:00 pm EST
 

Location:  Jimmy Carter Presidential Library 441 Freedom Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30307

In "The World According to Fannie Davis," Bridgett M. Davis shares a singular memoir that tells the story of one unforgettable mother, her devoted daughter, and the life they lead running the numbers in the De...
Cost: Free

Bob Friedman - “A Few Thousands Dollars: Sparking Prosperity for Everyone”

Thursday January 24, 2019 07:00 pm EST
Reading and Booksigning in the Carter Presidential Library & Museum Theater to commemorate author Bob Friedman and his novel "A Few Thousand Dollars: Sparking Prosperity for Everyone".
Cost: Free

Ansley Quiros - God With Us: Theology and the Freedom Struggle in Americus, Georgia

Monday December 3, 2018 07:00 pm EST
For many, the struggle over civil rights was not just about lunch counters, waiting rooms, or even access to the vote; it was also about Christian theology
Cost: Free

Ellen Meacham - Delta Epiphany: Robert F. Kennedy in Mississippi

Tuesday November 27, 2018 07:00 pm EST
Ellen B. Meacham tells the story of Kennedy?s visit to the Delta and the impact it had on him personally and politically.
Cost: Free

David Kaplan - The Most Dangerous Branch

Thursday November 15, 2018 07:00 pm EST
David A. Kaplan, the former legal affairs editor of Newsweek, shows how the justices subvert the role of the other branches of government?and how we?ve come to accept it at our peril.
Cost: Free

"The Most Unknown"

Tuesday November 13, 2018 06:30 pm EST
How did life begin? What is time? What is consciousness? How much do we really know?
Cost: Free

David Hu - ?How to Walk on Water and Climb up Walls?

Wednesday November 7, 2018 07:00 pm EST
David Hu takes readers on an accessible, wondrous journey into the world of animal motion
Cost: Free

Elliott Gorn - ?Let the People See?

Monday November 5, 2018 07:00 pm EST
Elliott Gorn investigates the Emmett Till story using new evidence and a broadened historical context.
Cost: Free

Jamie Susskind | Future Politics

Wednesday October 17, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and A Cappella Books welcome Harvard fellow Jamie Susskind, who will be discussing and signing copies of his book.
Cost: Free-$27.95

Frye Galliard | A Hard Rain: America in the 1960s, Our Decade of Hope, Possibility, and Innocence Lost

Wednesday September 12, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
Frye Gaillard has given us a deeply personal history, bringing his keen storyteller’s eye to this pivotal time in American life. He explores the competing story arcs of tragedy and hope through the political and social movements of the times ― civil rights, black power, women’s liberation, the War i...
Cost: Free

Vanessa Siddle Walker | Lost Education of Horace Tate

Tuesday July 31, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
In the epic tradition of Eyes on the Prize and with the cultural significance of John Lewis’s Marchtrilogy, an ambitious and harrowing account of the devoted black educators who battled southern school segregation and inequality. For two years an aging Dr. Horace Tate—a former teacher, principal, an...
Cost: Free

Anders Walker | The Burning House: Jim Crow and the Making of Modern America

Monday July 30, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
A startling and gripping reexamination of the Jim Crow era, as seen through the eyes of some of the most important American writers. In this dramatic reexamination of the Jim Crow South, Anders Walker demonstrates that racial segregation fostered not simply terror and violence, but also diversity, o...
Cost: Free

Austin Channing Brown & LeCrae | I'm Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness

Thursday July 19, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
Austin Channing Brown will be in conversation with LeCrae at The Carter Presidential Library & Museum on July 19th at 7 p.m. to discuss her new book I’M STILL HERE: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness. In a time when nearly all institutions claim to value "diversity" in their mission stateme...
Cost: Free

Alexander Heffner: A Documentary History of the United States

Tuesday July 10, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
Here, in a single volume, are the documents, speeches, and letters that have forged American history, now updated with new content such as Trump's inaugural address. Accompanied by interpretations of their significance by noted historian Richard D. Heffner and journalist Alexander Heffner, this book...
Cost: Free

Author Andrew Lawler Book Release Event at Jimmy Carter Presidential Library

Tuesday June 12, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
Andrew Lawler, author of The Secret Token: Myth, Obsession, and the Search for the Lost Colony of Roanoke launches his latest book with Acapella Books at the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library on Tuesday, June 12. Addressing questions that have captivated historians, archeologists and detectives for ...
Cost: FREE

Julie Williams, Three Not-So-Ordinary Joes

Thursday June 7, 2018 07:00 pm EDT
Join author Julie Williams as she shares her new novel depicting Joseph Addison Turner's journey to becoming the founder of Southern literature.
Cost: Free
441 Freedom Parkway N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30307
(404) 865-7100
array(2) {
  [0]=>
  string(3) "149"
  [1]=>
  string(3) "107"
}
Tourist Attraction,Museum
Hours
Monday: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM
Tuesday: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM
Wednesday: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM – 4:45 PM
Sunday: 12:00 – 4:45 PM