Atoms for Peace: Amok

XL Recordings

There's no denying that Atoms for Peace is largely Thom Yorke's outlet for his solo material. With a name directly taken from a track off of The Eraser, Yorke's 2006 solo debut, the band features longtime Radiohead producer (read: collaborator) Nigel Godrich and Red Hot Chili Peppers' bassist Flea realizing Yorke's vision with a broader scope than his earlier, laptop-heavy material. Amok succeeds at fleshing out the modestly intricate tunes, without really stepping out of the mid-tempo, electronically tinged rock comfort zone established by Radiohead. Still, tracks like "Default" and "Dropped" sprint along in a darkly colorful line of processed and bass-heavy glitches. "Judge Jury and Executioner" even manages to translate U.K. post-dubstep into nearly catchy art pop. (3 out of 5 stars)