Loading...
 

Podcast: Jonathan Merenivitch

Shepherds explore the anxieties of life in modern America with 'Insignificant Whip'

Shepherds By Meghan Dowlen
Photo credit: Meghan Dowlen
ME AGAINST THE WORLD: Jonathan Merenivitch (center) with Shepherds.
Radio Station Carousel Promotion See our CL radio site for more podcasts

 

Shepherds sophomore LP, Insignificant Whip, is out October 18 via Arrowhawk Records. As the group’s singer, guitarist, and frontman Jonathan Merenivitch explains, songs from the album featuring titles such as “Savor Your Sons,” “Your Pretend Past,” and “Long Eyelashes” confront themes of toxic masculinity, online dating, Tupac Shakur, and the anxiety of living in modern times.

Merenivitch stopped by CL’s Short Notice studio to talk about the new album, channeling a lifetime of experience into this latest collection of soul-infused indie rock numbers, and getting the band back out on the road. Press play to hear the conversation.

Check out the tour dates below.

Friday, October 11 Charleston, SC - Tin Roof
Saturday, October 12 Charlotte, NC - Snug Harbor
Monday, October 14 Raleigh, NC - Neptunes
Wednesday, October 16 Philadelphia, PA - Anthoma Gallery
Thursday, October 17 Baltimore, MD - Wind Up Space
Friday, October 18 Brooklyn, NY - Our Wicked Lady
Monday, October 21 Saratoga Springs, NY - Desperate Annie's
Wednesday, October 23 Louisville, KY - Kaiju
Thursday, October 24 Knoxville, TN - Pilot Light
Friday, October 25 Athens, GA - Caledonia Lounge
Saturday, October 26 Atlanta, GA - 529



Podcasts, Food and Drink, Homepage

Friday May 15, 2020 11:49 am EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Arts Agenda, Living Walls, Visual Arts

Friday May 1, 2020 06:57 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Arts Agenda, Homepage

Friday May 1, 2020 06:11 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Food and Drink, Quick Bites, Homepage

Sunday April 26, 2020 06:44 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Arts Agenda, Homepage, Hollywood Product, Movies & TV Features

Monday April 20, 2020 05:48 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Arts Agenda, Visual Arts , Homepage

Friday March 27, 2020 09:54 am EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Homepage, Friends in High Places

Tuesday March 24, 2020 04:26 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Homepage, Friends in High Places

Tuesday March 24, 2020 11:16 am EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Arts Agenda, Visual Arts , Homepage

Saturday March 21, 2020 11:17 am EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Podcasts, Homepage

Saturday March 21, 2020 11:04 am EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

More By This Writer

Article

Friday May 1, 2020 12:13 am EDT
New music from DfTaLS, Misanthropic Aggression, Tears For the Dying, and Bad Moods | more...

Article

Monday April 6, 2020 11:17 am EDT
Plus: The Star Bar will live again, new music from Nikki & the Phantom Callers, Picture One, and more | more...

Article

Friday March 13, 2020 12:15 pm EDT
ASO presents Return of the Jedi, Uniform & The Body, and more | more...

Article

Tuesday March 3, 2020 12:08 pm EST
Soul Food Cypher celebrates women in hip-hop, plus new music from Lesibu Grand, Tedeschi Trucks Band’s Mike Mattison, and more | more...

Article

Thursday February 20, 2020 11:31 am EST
Monster Jam, Mattiel, the Bongos, and more | more...
Search for more by Chad Radford