NEWS BRIEF: Non-masked school officials shun student honorees

Selfish school masters.

Three students at Mt. Bethel Elementary School who won a prize from Georgia Tech for inventing a recycling app are declining to be honored because Cobb County Board of Education officials are refusing to wear masks at a planned ceremony. Dylan Merrill, Zoe Diaz, and Mia Rhea — two of whom are too young to be vaccinated — and their parents requested attendees wear a mask during the recognition, but were rebuffed by the board. In a letter to the Cobb County Courier, Merrill wrote, “our board members are not setting a very good example for kids. (They) should be able to wear a mask for 5-10 minutes to congratulate a couple of kids, especially when we wear them all day.” cobbcountycourier.com