Music News: Kevn Kinney vs. 'Archer'

The Wild does Daytrotter, and more local music happenings

Drivn' n Cryin' singer and guitarist Kevn Kinney can add another producer credit to his resume, this time for the soundtrack to the F/X animated series "Archer." As the show's upcoming season unfolds, one of its main characters, ISIS receptionist Cheryl, in a strange twist of fate, becomes the No. 1 singer in America. Kinney produced an album's worth of material for her to sing, while assembling a handful of musicians. Three cover songs, including "East Bound and Down," "Danger Zone," "Baby, Please Don't Go," along with DNC's "Straight to Hell," are all on the album with a new track penned by DNC guitarist Aaron Lee Tasjan. Seven of Kinney's solo numbers will also be on the album To sing Cheryl's parts Kinney enlisted Jessy Lynn Martens, who also plays fiddle and mandolin on the soundtrack. The new season of "Archer" begins Mon., Jan. 13. The soundtrack is due out this spring.

In the meantime, Kinney's songwriters-in-the-round tour of Georgia and North Carolina, Lies, Damn Lies & Statistics: An evening with Kevn Kinney, Chuck Mead & Angie Aparo wraps up at Red Light Café on Sat., Jan. 11.

In other news, underground hip-hop trio W.I.C. (We Invented Cool) has completed its third full-length project, Trapped. The album features a slew of contributions from Whisperlink, Go Dreamer, Goldyard, Big Face Paper Gang, and the likes. A CD release party is scheduled for the Basement on Sat., Feb. 8. But before that happens the group needs to raise $1,700 to press the CDs. To fund the project they've launched a Kickstarter campaign, with donor rewards ranging from "love in the street and a shout out" to a T-shirt with the album's cover art designed by local artist Eric 9.

Holoking is a new project featuring former Cloudeater drummer Chris Hunt, and Chicago-based MC Diverse (Kenny Jenkins). The two have a 10-song EP in the works, and plan to release a new song titled "Superhuman" online on Mon., Jan. 13. The group plays its first show at 529 on Thurs., Jan. 23, at the monthly Left Field Experiment. Hunt and Diverse will be joined by bass player Kevin Scott and a few others.

Macaulay Culkin's pizza-themed Velvet Underground cover band, the Pizza Underground, is coming to the Mammal Gallery on Wed., March 19, to play a show with La Femme and TV Dinner. Yes, now you can witness the star of the Home Alone franchise and his friends take the "what if we did this" stoner quandary to new lows as they cheese up your favorite Velvet Underground songs with such lyrics as "I'm beginning to eat the slice," and "I'm waiting for the delivery man." At least there will be pizza courtesy of Cameli's.

Acoustic duo Sans Abri (Josh Erwin and Michael Paynter of Packway Handle Band) released a new CD, Shelter, via Twin Cousins Records in December. Britt Teusink (guitar, drum machine, vocals) and Gage Gilmore (bass) of deadCAT recently unveiled a mutant R&B project they've put together called xXgLaSsLuShxX (pronounced Glass Lush). The first song, "299," is a teaser for an album due out later this spring titled SB '90 Mixtape. It's a smooth number driven by a bedroom bass line that draws out a more sensual side of these guys' carnal music, drawing more inspiration from the Isley Bros, Al Green, and TLC than Frank Ocean. Like so much music these two have turned out together, it's sincere, but rendered in their own twisted musical vocabulary.

Indie folk-punk troubadours the Wild landed a Daytrotter session for Thurs., Jan. 9, while on the road supporting the group's latest, Dreams are Maps. The Head is recording a new single this spring with producer Mitch Easter (R.E.M., Pavement, Ben Folds Five). A full-length is due in September. Lily and the Tigers recently completed their third album, The Hand You Deal Yourself. Hip-hop duo Ante Meridian has signed with Autumn+Color for a digital rerelease of Sons of Heaven. Remastered by Glenn Schick, the redux drops Tues., Jan. 14. Spirits and the Melchizedek Children's next album, So Happy, It's Sad, is out March 4, and Black Lips' Underneath the Rainbow drops March 18 via Vice.