Loading...
 

Podcast: Jonathan Merenivitch

Shepherds explore the anxieties of life in modern America with 'Insignificant Whip'

Shepherds By Meghan Dowlen
Photo credit: Meghan Dowlen
ME AGAINST THE WORLD: Jonathan Merenivitch (center) with Shepherds.
Radio Station Carousel Promotion See our CL radio site for more podcasts

 

Shepherds sophomore LP, Insignificant Whip, is out October 18 via Arrowhawk Records. As the group’s singer, guitarist, and frontman Jonathan Merenivitch explains, songs from the album featuring titles such as “Savor Your Sons,” “Your Pretend Past,” and “Long Eyelashes” confront themes of toxic masculinity, online dating, Tupac Shakur, and the anxiety of living in modern times.

Merenivitch stopped by CL’s Short Notice studio to talk about the new album, channeling a lifetime of experience into this latest collection of soul-infused indie rock numbers, and getting the band back out on the road. Press play to hear the conversation.

Check out the tour dates below.

Friday, October 11 Charleston, SC - Tin Roof
Saturday, October 12 Charlotte, NC - Snug Harbor
Monday, October 14 Raleigh, NC - Neptunes
Wednesday, October 16 Philadelphia, PA - Anthoma Gallery
Thursday, October 17 Baltimore, MD - Wind Up Space
Friday, October 18 Brooklyn, NY - Our Wicked Lady
Monday, October 21 Saratoga Springs, NY - Desperate Annie's
Wednesday, October 23 Louisville, KY - Kaiju
Thursday, October 24 Knoxville, TN - Pilot Light
Friday, October 25 Athens, GA - Caledonia Lounge
Saturday, October 26 Atlanta, GA - 529



More By This Writer

Article

Monday November 9, 2020 11:32 am EST
New cuts from Lesibu Grand, 21 Savage, and Misanthropic Aggression | more...

Article

Friday October 2, 2020 04:39 pm EDT
The metal behemoth gears up for heavy year to come | more...

Article

Thursday September 3, 2020 03:40 pm EDT
An A to Z list of Atlanta music and food crossover ventures | more...

Article

Monday August 3, 2020 04:05 pm EDT
Plus, new music from the Callous Daoboys, Playytime, Elliot Bronson, and more | more...

Article

Tuesday June 30, 2020 11:55 am EDT
Despite lifting restrictions, music venues may still face extinction | more...
Search for more by Chad Radford

Food and Drink, Beer

Thursday November 19, 2020 07:59 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer

Wednesday November 11, 2020 07:18 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Arts, Book Content

Thursday November 5, 2020 07:14 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Music and Nightlife

Monday October 26, 2020 10:17 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer

Friday October 9, 2020 06:19 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Culture, Murals/Graffiti, Visual Arts

Thursday October 8, 2020 11:58 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Murals/Graffiti, Visual Arts , Homepage

Wednesday September 30, 2020 07:23 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Visual Arts , Homepage

Friday September 25, 2020 06:48 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Visual Arts

Wednesday September 23, 2020 06:47 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast with Atlanta artist Rory Hawkins aka Catlanta.  | more...

Arts Agenda, Visual Arts , Homepage

Wednesday August 26, 2020 06:43 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...