Loading...
 

Podcast: Rod Hamdallah

The young master of shamanic garage rock on the mystery of music and more

Rod Hamdallah
Photo credit: Tim Song
THINK ABOUT IT: Rod Hamdallah plays Bubbapalooza at the Star Bar on Friday, May 24.
Radio Station Carousel Promotion See our CL radio site for more podcasts

 

Rod Hamdallah is a young master of shamanic garage rock, punk, noise, and fractured blues. A purveyor of Southern mystery and grit, the singer, songwriter, and guitarist is tearing up stages around the country, armed with a fresh 10-inch vinyl pressing of his 2014 EP, Think About It, out now via Hound Gawd Records.

On Friday, May 24, Hamdallah co-headlines Bubbapalooza alongside Rev. James Leg. Before the show, Hamdallah stopped by CL to talk about absorbing punk rock, the blues, and Arabic music at a young age, his time spent playing guitar with Nashville’s Legendary Shack Shakers, and what he’s up to next. Press play!

Bubbapalooza 2019 opening party. Thurs., May 23 at the Star Bar. Free. 8 p.m.

Bubbapalooza feat. Rod Hamdallah, Rev. James Leg, the TombTones, and more. Fri., May 24. $10. 7 p.m.

Bubbapalooza feat. Delusionaires, Ghost Riders Car Club, Andrea & Mud, and more. Sat., May 25. $10. 3 p.m.

Sunday Bubbapalooza feat. Michael Tolcher, Blackfox with the Hills and the Holler, and more. Sun., May 26. $7. 8 p.m.

 



Visual Arts , Homepage

Wednesday September 23, 2020 06:47 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast with Atlanta artist Rory Hawkins aka Catlanta.  | more...

Arts Agenda, Visual Arts , Homepage

Wednesday August 26, 2020 06:43 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Homepage, Neighborhoods

Monday August 24, 2020 06:57 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer

Wednesday August 5, 2020 07:56 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer, Homepage

Tuesday August 4, 2020 10:33 am EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer

Monday August 3, 2020 12:27 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer, Homepage

Tuesday July 14, 2020 06:27 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Homepage

Sunday July 12, 2020 04:28 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Beer, Homepage

Wednesday June 24, 2020 06:30 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Article

Thursday June 11, 2020 06:15 pm EDT
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

More By This Writer

Article

Thursday September 3, 2020 03:40 pm EDT
An A to Z list of Atlanta music and food crossover ventures | more...

Article

Monday August 3, 2020 04:05 pm EDT
Plus, new music from the Callous Daoboys, Playytime, Elliot Bronson, and more | more...

Article

Tuesday June 30, 2020 11:55 am EDT
Despite lifting restrictions, music venues may still face extinction | more...

Article

Wednesday June 3, 2020 11:59 pm EDT
New releases from Adam McIntyre, Mathis Hunter, Young Antiques, and more | more...

Article

Friday May 1, 2020 12:13 am EDT
New music from DfTaLS, Misanthropic Aggression, Tears For the Dying, and Bad Moods | more...
Search for more by Chad Radford