Warhol Foundation 2010 workshop recipients announced, CL contributor on the list

Visual artist and <i>CL</i> contributor Deanna Sirlin makes the cut


Creative Capital posted the recipients of its 2010 writing workshop awards late this afternoon. Among the 10 recipients is visual artist and CL contributor Deanna Sirlin. No real deatails have been released beyond the names of the winners, but Sirlin does know that Pulitzer-prize finalist and art historian Hayden Herrera will be her mentor.

The foundation's Arts Writing Workshop is "designed to give practicing writers the opportunity to strengthen their work through one-on-one consultations with leading art critics."

In addition to Sirlin, this year's winners include, Natalie Bell, New York, NY; David Buuk, Oakland, CA; Colin Edgington, New Brunswick, NJ; Mark Feldman, Menlo Park, CA; Erin Langner, Seattle, WA; Carol McCusker, San Diego, CA; Patricia Mora, Dallas, TX; Christina Schmid, Minneapolis, MN; Adam Welch, Hightstown, NJ.

The mentors/workshop leaders this year are former NYT art editor Annette Grant; Eleanor Heartney, award-winning art critic and contributing editor to Art in America and Artpress; 2003 Guggenheim Fellow and chair of the graduate program in Art Criticism & Writing at the School of Visual Arts in New York David Levi-Strauss; Suzanne Muchnic, critic and art writer for the Los Angeles Times, among other publications; contributing editor and former art critic at Newsweek Peter Plagens; award-winning curator Mark Rosenthal; Richard Shiff, the Effie Marie Cain Regents Chair in Art at the University of Texas at Austin; Gregory Volk, contributing editor to Art in America; and New York-based independent curator and critic Lilly Wei.

Congrats Deanna!