Loading...
 

PODCAST: David Landis

The longstanding Summerhill-based artist talks about his sculpture work and the changing neighborhood

Landis
Photo credit: Chad Radford
RABBIT RUN: Sculptor David Landis in his studio, holding a character from one of his recent works.
Radio Station Carousel Promotion See our CL radio site for more podcasts

 

Since 2004, David Landis has worked from his sculpture studio at 97 Georgia Avenue in the burgeoning Summerhill neighborhood. Landis is perhaps best known for his casting work, turning out large scale, publicly commissioned and smaller private pieces. His works can be seen everywhere from the Eastside Atlanta BeltLine trail to the Pierre Baudis Convention Center in Toulouse, France.

Recently, I visited the studio to catch up with Landis and his dog Hank to talk about the animals, truncated characters, forward motion, and other underlying themes in his work, and the changing face of Summerhill.

Landis Sculpture Studio is located at 97 Georgia Ave. in Summerhill.



More By This Writer

Article

Sunday December 27, 2020 04:00 am EST
Best bets for a crispy-fried quick fix come last call | more...

Article

Monday December 7, 2020 05:32 pm EST
Divisive band’s first album is reissued | more...

Article

Monday November 9, 2020 11:32 am EST
New cuts from Lesibu Grand, 21 Savage, and Misanthropic Aggression | more...

Article

Friday October 2, 2020 04:39 pm EDT
The metal behemoth gears up for heavy year to come | more...

Article

Thursday September 3, 2020 03:40 pm EDT
An A to Z list of Atlanta music and food crossover ventures | more...
Search for more by Chad Radford

Food and Drink, Beer, First Draft Portal, Homepage

Wednesday February 24, 2021 06:02 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer, First Draft Portal, Homepage

Friday February 19, 2021 01:43 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Culture, Food and Drink, Beer, First Draft Portal, Homepage

Tuesday February 16, 2021 06:17 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Culture, Homepage, Atlanta History, Things to Do

Thursday February 11, 2021 07:00 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer, First Draft Portal, Homepage

Friday January 22, 2021 12:38 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer, First Draft Portal, Homepage

Monday January 18, 2021 06:17 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer, Homepage

Friday January 8, 2021 05:47 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Culture, Homepage

Wednesday December 2, 2020 07:26 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer

Thursday November 19, 2020 07:59 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...

Food and Drink, Beer

Wednesday November 11, 2020 07:18 pm EST
a Creative Loafing podcast | more...