Loading...
 

Doug DeLoach

Atlanta Writer/Critic

An Atlanta native, Doug DeLoach has been covering music and the arts in his hometown and beyond for four decades. In the early '80s “Listening Post,” his music column, debuted in Creative Loafing, where he has been writing features and commentary ever since. A regular contributor to Songlines, a world music magazine based in London, his ruminations on arts and culture have appeared in such publications as Georgia Music, ArtsGeorgia, ArtsATL, High Performance, and Art Papers.

Articles By This Writer

Article

Monday December 2, 2019 05:44 pm EST
Gripping documentary spotlights Bard Prison Initiative | more...

Article

Thursday October 17, 2019 03:56 pm EDT
Photographs by Atlanta artist document early graffiti painting on New York subway cars | more...

Article

Thursday September 12, 2019 03:40 pm EDT
New documentary finds the trumpeter shadowboxing with himself | more...

Article

Tuesday September 3, 2019 03:17 pm EDT
Zesto Atlanta’s family affair marks a milestone of sweet and savory service | more...

Article

Wednesday August 28, 2019 11:33 am EDT
Experienced-based exhibitions open doors to new audiences at the High Museum of Art | more...

Article

Thursday June 6, 2019 12:56 pm EDT
The onetime mill town has nurtured a diverse music scene | more...

Article

Thursday May 9, 2019 12:27 pm EDT
Duet for Theremin and Lap Steel are on an odyssey born of a love for non-fixed pitch improvisation | more...

Article

Tuesday April 2, 2019 12:44 pm EDT
Emory Gamelan Ensemble hosts Javanese masters for ‘Celebration of Arjuna’ | more...

Article

Monday February 18, 2019 11:23 pm EST
‘Voices of Mississippi’ and ‘Listen All Around’ illustrate similarities between the Deep South of the ’60s and East/Central Africa of the ’50s | more...

Article

Monday February 4, 2019 07:15 pm EST
Concert celebrates new releases by BASrelief and W8ing4UFOs | more...

Article

Friday January 25, 2019 10:43 am EST
The jazz maestro drops an album of adventurous collaborations | more...

Article

Thursday January 17, 2019 10:39 am EST
Portland-based reissue label’s co-founder Eric Isaacson showcases a secret history of musical cycles | more...

Article

Saturday December 22, 2018 09:55 am EST
Lonnie Holley, Russell Gunn, Clay Harper, and more top picks from the year in Atlanta music | more...

Article

Wednesday November 21, 2018 04:13 pm EST
A trio of duos headline a night of innovative music | more...

Article

Friday November 16, 2018 04:05 pm EST
The guitar maestro offers an evening of masterful music | more...
Search for more by