Loading...
 
 

Album Reviews

Album Reviews


Article

Friday May 17, 2019 04:22 pm EDT
‘With the Moon’ blends propulsive dirges and futuristic sounds into a time-shifting drift of ambient footwork | more...

Article

Thursday May 2, 2019 10:43 am EDT
'Enjoy.' has the markings of a street classic | more...

Article

Monday April 1, 2019 04:00 am EDT
‘Sisters & Brothers’ looks for salvation in the new dark age | more...

Article

Friday March 29, 2019 04:03 pm EDT
'Everything Lasts Forever' brings pop mischief to classical music | more...

Article

Thursday March 14, 2019 01:13 pm EDT
Near the 10-minute mark of her new self-produced album GIRLS, Yung Baby Tate channels her inner Chaka Khan, incorporating lyrics from “I’m Every Woman” in “That Girl.” The Decatur artist develops the message of Khan's trademark anthem into an album that explores and celebrates the female experience from multiple points of view. On each track, Tate, born Tate Farris, embodies a different... | more...

Article

Friday March 1, 2019 02:27 pm EST
'London Dungeon' b/w 'Forever Burned' roar with darkness | more...

Article

Thursday February 28, 2019 10:05 am EST
Intensity, panic, and bliss guide 'IAO Chant' into the cosmos | more...

Article

Thursday February 28, 2019 03:00 am EST
Neo soul songbird returns with 'WORTHY' | more...

Article

Monday February 18, 2019 11:45 am EST
Down South Showdown MVPs on wax | more...

Article

Tuesday February 5, 2019 09:39 am EST
'Future Hndrxx Presents: The WIZRD' is a narcissistic, yet infectious, self-declaration of greatness | more...

Article

Monday February 4, 2019 07:15 pm EST
Concert celebrates new releases by BASrelief and W8ing4UFOs | more...

Article

Friday February 1, 2019 02:00 am EST
Bradford Cox draws inspiration from humanity’s deficiencies on ‘Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared?’ | more...

Article

Friday February 1, 2019 12:15 am EST
'Threads' is a ’90s time capsule as much as it is a new chapter for the long-standing trio | more...

Article

Monday January 7, 2019 09:56 am EST
‘Your Moral Superiors: Singles and Rarities’ | more...

Article

Sunday December 30, 2018 06:07 pm EST
From Migos to Misanthropic Aggression, 40 of the city's most essential listens of the past year | more...

Article

Friday December 21, 2018 07:01 pm EST
Doug Deloach cites the Top Five local albums to catch his ear this year | more...

Article

Thursday December 6, 2018 10:57 am EST
'Danger Reality' falls prey to its own cool cachet | more...

Article

Thursday December 6, 2018 10:32 am EST
‘Meriwether’ ruminates on life with endearing Southern wisdom | more...

Article

Monday November 12, 2018 12:00 am EST
OutKast rapper's third solo album re-ups ATLien pride | more...

Article

Tuesday October 30, 2018 12:55 pm EDT
A short, sweet departure from straight-up hardcore | more...

Article

Monday October 29, 2018 12:18 pm EDT
‘The Countdown’ distills a lifetime of turbulent genius into 10 emotionally-charged rockers | more...

Article

Thursday September 13, 2018 05:00 am EDT
The third single from 'Designed To Break' shows off a refined sonic palette | more...

Article

Thursday August 23, 2018 11:46 am EDT
'Back To the City' is a marked step forward for the psych-rock journeymen | more...

Article

Saturday August 4, 2018 05:00 am EDT
‘What the Daughter Does, the Mother Did’ carries listeners to simpler, complicated times | more...

Article

Monday July 30, 2018 11:58 pm EDT


Adelaide Tai, better known simply as Adelaide, holds a variety of talents that appeal to a variety of senses. The singer/songwriter doubles as a painter, making her art and music explode with color through every gentle guitar melody and careful brushstroke. Earlier this year, she entranced audiences with her debut single “Blue,” and has been hard at work on a second single with a video titled...

| more...

Article

Monday July 30, 2018 09:41 am EDT
Key! and Kenny Beats are sad as hell, but they turn up the heat | more...

Article

Monday July 30, 2018 12:44 am EDT
Debut album reduces rock and punk tropes to their gritty basics | more...

Article

Monday July 9, 2018 05:18 pm EDT
Debut album carves out a definitive place for the local jam band | more...

Article

Monday July 2, 2018 05:00 am EDT
Self-titled record diversifies the group's musical palette | more...

Article

Friday June 8, 2018 01:29 pm EDT
‘BC 35’ documents a lifetime of outsider music | more...

Article

Friday June 8, 2018 02:00 am EDT
Flamingo Shadow, Janelle Monáe, and more music to keep you moving | more...

Article

Thursday June 7, 2018 03:39 pm EDT
The veteran folk rockers chart new territory | more...

Article

Thursday May 24, 2018 09:53 am EDT

Cultivated on the stages of New York City experimental music venues such as Roulette, the Stone, and Knitting Factory, Thumbscrew is something of an all-star trio in the jazz world.

The group, featuring Mary Halvorson on guitar, Michael Formanek on bass, and Tomas Fujiwara on drums, splits their time between seemingly a million other projects, but the members never sound like musical...

| more...

Article

Sunday May 13, 2018 11:31 am EDT
Polished hooks meet heartland rhythms on ‘Maybe Later’ | more...

Article

Thursday May 10, 2018 01:32 pm EDT
Jazz, classical, blues, and indie rock guide ‘Everywhere I Go’ | more...

Article

Thursday May 3, 2018 03:54 pm EDT
  | more...

Article

Thursday April 26, 2018 07:58 pm EDT
The group's 8th full-length balances raw energy and refined songwriting | more...

Article

Tuesday April 3, 2018 06:31 pm EDT
Fugazi’s rhythm section finds a new match in guitarist Anthony Pirog | more...

Article

Friday March 30, 2018 06:19 pm EDT
  | more...

Article

Wednesday March 14, 2018 01:01 pm EDT
'The High Cost of Low Living' ramps up the tension, excitement, and energy of the blues | more...

Article

Monday March 12, 2018 11:00 am EDT
No description provided | more...

Article

Monday March 12, 2018 10:06 am EDT
  | more...

Article

Thursday March 1, 2018 01:00 am EST
Slings and Arrows' gets personal | more...

Article

Thursday February 22, 2018 01:14 pm EST
A.T. and In-Doe go deep with self-titled album | more...

Article

Friday January 26, 2018 03:31 pm EST
Frank Schultz and Scott Burland team up with Ben Shirley for a dark collaboration | more...

Article

Thursday December 28, 2017 07:48 pm EST
The electronic pop outfit's latest opus reaches new collaborative and compositional highs | more...

Article

Wednesday December 13, 2017 08:50 am EST
The Nashville-based grunge outfit gets personal with its second album | more...

Article

Thursday November 30, 2017 09:07 pm EST
Omni, Cloak, Mattiel, 21 Savage, Mastodon and more top picks from CL's year end music list | more...

Article

Wednesday November 29, 2017 09:35 pm EST
Victor Mariachi, Material Girls, Eliot Bronson, and more top picks from CL's year end music list | more...

Article

Tuesday November 28, 2017 07:22 pm EST
Biters, Lil Yachty, the Whiskey Gentry, and more kick off CL's year end music list | more...